It is easy being green

img_20170305_200728_037.jpgI became a Lasallian in Grade 6 when my mom enrolled me in La Salle Academy. We just moved from Manila to Iligan at that time and there’s no other school that we want to go to. I completed my high school in the same school.

In college, I went a different route and enrolled in Cebu Doctor’s College for pre-dentistry. But fate would only allow me to stay there for a semester. I came back in Iligan after dropping out of the school. When my sister was entering college, she wanted to study in Manila. So my family made another move from Iligan to Manila. She enrolled in De La Salle – College of Saint Benilde and took up AB Multimedia Arts. I was going to enroll to that same school right away but they could not admit me because there were no grades to compute. The admissions officer advised me to enroll in a different school and apply for admission again after a semester. I bided my time at Emilio Aguinaldo College near UN Avenue. By the time one semester was over, I enrolled in CSB and got in. 

In the Philippines, La Salle’s color is green adopted from the Irish Christian Brothers who came in the country to build the first La Salle school in Taft Avenue, Manila. From sports teams to school buildings to uniforms, it’s mostly green. However, it should be noted that La Salle worldwide is known to adopt the color blue.

So that is my back story why I’m green-blooded, so to speak. Volleyball is such a big sport now here in the Philippines and who else to support and cheer for than the De La Salle University Lady Spikers? I have been a fan since Season 73. They are the defending champions and I hope they get to have a back-to-back title this Season 79.

Indeed, it is easy being green!

wp-image-390662474jpg.jpg

20160423_133131

 

 

Author: carl

30 something guy blogging about his life

1 thought on “It is easy being green”

Leave a Reply

