Season 79

I’m a big DLSU Lady Spikers fan! I’ve been watching religiously and cheering for the girls since Season 73.

Actually as early as the Shakey’s V-League Season 1, I would watch their games in Rizal Memorial Colisuem and sometimes watch delayed telecasts on TV back when live broadcast of Volleyball games were unheard of. After that brief moment, I have not heard of or watched their games again because life happened and there was not much buzz about Volleyball back then.

Volleyball has grown a following and so live TV coverages came about. I caught the final game of Season 72 between UST and De La Salle on TV when Studio 23 aired them. My girls lost that game to a better team. From that point onward, my interest in the team resurfaced and I knew I had to follow and watch all games on TV as much as possible.

Fast forward to Season 77, I found a group of fans from an online forum. And since then, we watch together in venues – always showing up full force on big games especially against rival Ateneo Lady Eagles.

Season 79 opened last Feb. 4 but it was only March 4 when I watched a game live at the venue. I watched all Lady Spikers game on TV since the new season started. But for a big game versus the rival team, I have to watch it live.

The Lady Spikers went ahead in first two sets only to lose both because of crucial errors and bad officiating. They turned the table and played catch up in the third set. They pocketed the 3rd set before crumbling in the fourth set. I thought they lost the will to fight and I wished we still had players like Gumabao and Maraño who had never-die-attitudes back then. But too bad, this new crop of Lady Spikers still lack killer instinct.

This season is so unpreditable. At least 6 teams are capable of winning the championship. It’s good that every team have leveled up but I have to admit I miss the old dominant DLSU Lady Spikers – the most feared team in the UAAP.

They are the defending champs and I hope they can bounce back in round 2. They still have a lot of time to improve. For now I will just keep the faith. Animo La Salle!

Author: carl

30 something guy blogging about his life

Leave a Reply

